Evolution of the wedding dress

#myfauxdiamond

Exams and Wedding Plans

I am going to sound like a typical college girl, but I love following fashion trends and seeing what new styles are hot. Nine times out of ten, my tv is either on E Network or TLC’s What Not To Wear. Lucky for me, my guilty pleasure became my inspiration for today’s post. I wanted to trace the popular wedding dress styles and show how historical events affected the fashion (thank goodness the styles have improved!) Below I have included my favorite decades of wedding style and don’t forget to check out the link to view all the styles.

1930s 

James-and-Nettie-Fiato-june-12-1932-ritas-friends-grandparents-1

Weddings during the 1930s had a tricky time at buying a gown because of the Great Depression. Often the dresses were made from rayon (cheaper than silk) or women wore their nicest dress they already had.

1940s

rose-eddie-kaufman-1940s-jim-duhe-cousins

I’d most likely belong in this decade because I am the queen of…

View original post 113 more words

Leave a Reply

